Lauzen announces several General Assembly Scholarships

By on June 26, 2010

AURORA—Eight one-year General Assembly Scholarships have been awarded by State Senator Chris Lauzen (R-25, Aurora) to eligible college students in the 25th District.

The Scholarship Committee, including local business, healthcare, education and community leaders from Kane, Kendall and LaSalle Counties, reviewed the applications to select eight students who plan to attend one of the state’s public universities, or to attend the University of Illinois. Academic achievement in high school (or college, if applicable), community service, and financial need are among the criteria considered by committee members.

“There are many qualified young adults in the 25th District. This is never an easy decision for the committee,” said committee chairman, Jeri Steinmetz.

The 2010 scholarship recipients who will be attending the University of Illinois are: Tara Czepiel, Sugar Grove; Matt Johnson, West Dundee; Lauren Michels, Aurora; Jake Petit, Geneva. The scholarship recipients who will be attending other distinguished universities in Fall are: Sarah Bohr-Walsh, Plano (NIU); Kate Abell, Aurora (NIU); Peter Vilim, Sugar Grove (UIC); Nicole Hanna, South Elgin (ISU).

“Although I have voted and have sponsored legislation to discontinue the scholarship program because it represents a ‘perk’ of public office, I’m proud that the committee fulfills our responsibility by awarding these scholarships on merit rather than politics,” Lauzen said. “Although we have always kept the process open and available to every student who meets the criteria, this will be the last year that our office participates in this program.”