KC voter info for Nov. 2 election

By on October 9, 2010

Kane County—If you failed to register to vote prior to Tuesday’s deadline, do not fret, you can still take part in the election by taking advantage of the county’s grace period registration.

According to the Kane County Clerk’s Office, people who did not register to vote by Oct. 5 may register to vote in the clerk’s office from Oct. 6 through Tuesday, Oct. 26.

If you register to vote during the grace period and wish to vote in the Tuesday, Nov. 2, election, you must vote at the time of registration.

The Kane County Clerk’s Office is located at 719 S. Batavia Ave., Building B, North Entrance, in Geneva.

The office is open Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays, and Fridays, 8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.; and Wednesdays from 8:30 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Early voting

If you are a Kane County registered voter, excluding the city of Aurora, you may vote at any of the following locations during in-person Early Voting for the 2010 General Election, beginning on Monday, Oct. 11, through Thursday, Oct. 28.

To vote early, you must present an Illinois driver’s license, a non-driver ID card issued by the Illinois Secretary of State, or another government-issued photo ID.

Jewel Osco
465 N State Route 47, Sugar Grove
• Wednesday, Oct. 27, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 28, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Jewel Osco

800 Main St., Elburn
• Wednesday, Oct. 13, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 14, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.
• Friday, Oct. 15, 10 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Sugar Grove Library
125 S. Municipal St., Sugar Grove
• Tuesday, Oct. 12, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Wednesday, Oct. 13, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 14, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Friday, Oct. 15, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
• Saturday, Oct. 16, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
• Tuesday, Oct. 19, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Wednesday, Oct. 20, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 21, 1 to 8 p.m. 
• Friday, Oct. 22, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
• Saturday, Oct. 23, 9 a.m. to 1 p.m.
• Tuesday, Oct. 26, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Wednesday, Oct. 27, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Thursday, Oct. 28, 2010, 1 to 8 p.m.

Town & Country Library
320 E North St, Elburn
• Monday, Oct. 25, 1 to 8 p.m.
• Tuesday, Oct. 26, 1 to 8 p.m.

For a more complete list of early voting locations and times, visit www.kanecountyelections.org.

Absentee voter information
Persons registered to vote in Kane County excluding the city of Aurora are eligible to cast an absentee ballot with the Kane County Clerk’s Office.

In addition, the following unregistered voters are eligible to vote by absentee ballot:
1. Members of the Armed Forces or Merchant Marine and their spouses and dependents whether serving in the United States or abroad;
2. U.S. citizens and their spouses or dependents, whose permanent residence is in Kane County but who will be temporarily residing abroad on election day;
3. U.S. citizens (not their spouses or dependents) who maintained a residence in Kane County immediately prior to their departure from the United States.

The last day the Kane County Clerk’s Office can mail you a ballot is five days prior to the election.

To request an absentee ballot, e-mail elections@co.kane.il.us or call (630) 232-5990. The ballot needs to be postmarked by the day before the election and must be in at the Clerk’s Office within two weeks after the election.

In addition, you may vote absentee in person at the County Clerk’s office beginning 40 days prior to an election until the day before the election. If you are unable to come to the office to vote and would rather not vote by mail, you may vote early at locations spread throughout the county. Early voting begins 22 days prior to the election through four days prior to the election.

For any additional voter information, please visit www.kanecountyelections.org.