WCC hoops Region IV District B kings

By on March 10, 2011

WAUBONSEE—For the second consecutive year, Waubonsee Community College’s Men’s Basketball team captured the NJCAA Region IV Division II District B Championship.

The Chiefs downed the College of Lake County 67-55 in the title game this past Saturday, held at Illinois Valley Community College in Oglesby. The Chiefs’ Markus Cocroft (So./Aurora/Aurora West) was named the Region IV Division II District B Tournament’s Most Valuable Player, while Dexter Turner (So./Beloit, WI./Horlick) was selected to the All-Tournament Team for the second straight year. Head Coach Dave Heiss was tabbed the Region IV Coach of the Year for the third time in the last four years.

Waubonsee (21-11) advances to the NJCAA Division II National Tournament in Danville, Ill., where they will play sixth-ranked Cecil (MD) College (27-5) in the first round beginning on Tuesday, March 15, at 6:30 p.m. Win or lose, the Chiefs’ second game in the double-elimination tournament will be on Thursday, March 17. If Waubonsee wins their opening game, they will play the winner between Lincoln (IL) College and Lakeland (OH) Community College at 6:30 p.m. If they lose, they take on the losing team between Lincoln and Lakeland at 11 a.m. The tournament runs through March 19 with all games played at Danville Area Community College.