Kaneland staff members recognized by state arts group

By on March 26, 2011

KANELAND—March 17 was a joyous celebration of the arts—not only for the state of Illinois, but arts in the Kaneland School District.

March 17 was the Annual Illinois Alliance for Arts Education (IAAE) Awards and Recognition Ceremony at the Governor’s Mansion in Springfield. The IAAE chooses recipients from a list of nominees submitted by various people in the fine arts. Dr. Charles McCormick, former Kaneland School District superintendent, and Bonnie Whildin, art specialist at John Stewart Elementary School, both received recognition awards.

McCormick received the recognition award for School Administration and attended the ceremony with his wife, Jennifer. Whildin was originally nominated in the category of Arts Educator, but was honored as an Art Exemplar instead. Art Exemplar is a new category created by the IAAE for recipients who exemplify art excellence in various fields.

Whildin attended the ceremony with her husband, Mike, and received a round of applause after her first sentence, “I love telling people that I am an art teacher.”

The Kaneland honorees were presented their awards by Maria Dripps-Paulson, executive director of the Kaneland Community Fine Arts Festival (KCFAF). Also in the audience supporting the honorees were Kaneland High School Assistant Principal and KCFAF committee member Diane McFarlin, and Kaneland John Stewart Elementary School Principal Laura Garland. Both recipients were further honored by receiving a certificate of congratulations by state Rep. Kay Hatcher.”