School Board sets schedule, seats new members

By on April 30, 2011

by Keith Beebe
KANELAND—The Kaneland School Board on Monday voted 7-0 to approve the 2011-12 School Board meeting schedule. Board reorganization also took place during the meeting and addressed election of officers and appointment of committee liaisons.

Cheryl Krauspe and Elmer Gramley will remain president and vice president, respectively. Teresa Witt will take over the board secretary position.

Board meeting dates will take place on the second and fourth Monday of each month except June (second and third Monday), July (second Monday only), August (second and fifth Monday), October (first Tuesday and fourth Monday), December (second Monday only), January (second and fifth Monday), March (second Monday only) and April (second and fifth Monday).

New board members Jim Oberweis, Tony Valente and Gale Pavlak were also seated during the meeting.

“From all indications, everyone is ready to get to work,” Krauspe said. “We are feeling our way through this next two weeks with board liaison assignments. I have asked them to work with me to finalize it.”

According to a document provided by Krauspe, tentative board liaison assignments include Krauspe and Gramley representing the Kaneland Foundation, Pavlak and Witt representing the Citizens’ Advisory Committee, Valente and Gramley representing the Facilities Planning Commission, Oberweis and board member Ken Carter representing the Finance Advisory Committee, Gramley representing the Kaneland Hall of Fame, Valente serving as IASA delegate, Pavlak representing the Insurance Committee, Krauspe, Witt and Gramly serving as municipal officers, and Krauspe serving as Kishwaukee regional governing board representative.

“Appointments to liaison committees are (still) tentative,” Krauspe said.