Rounds of applause, toasts of thanks

By on May 6, 2011

by Lynn Meredith
ELBURN—The Village Board gave its thanks amid rounds of applause and bottled water toasts to Gordon Diershaw and Patricia Rompke, who turned over their seats on the board at Monday’s meeting, following the reading of the certified election results.

“I’ve had a super eight-year run, and I hope these people will carry on,” Diershaw toasted.

New trustees Dave Gualdoni and Ethan Hastert, along with returning board member Bill Grabarek, were then sworn in to four-year terms on the board and took their seats at the table.

Elburn’s three precincts, of which the village is only a part of each, returned 599 votes cast, or 18.82 percent of the vote.

Gualdoni, a part-time employee of the village, resigned his position.