WCC Student Senators announced at meeting

By on November 5, 2011

Photo: Members of the 2011-12 Waubonsee Community College Student Senate include Corina Quinonez (back, left to right), Jelena Lazic, Paul Bartow, Rami Sa’d, Nicholas Scanlan, Claire Guzior, Lizbeth Camacho and Iliana Rivera, Student Trustee Chris Mortenson (front, left to right), Executive Vice President Dylan Boyer, President Meredith Adamski and Secretary K.C. Vogt. Courtesy Photo

SUGAR GROVE—The 12 elected members of the Waubonsee Community College Student Senate were introduced at the college’s board of trustees meeting on Oct. 19.

The 2011-12 student senator office holders are: President Meredith Adamski of Batavia; Executive Vice President Dylan Boyer of Sandwich; and Secretary K.C. Vogt of Aurora.

Additional student senators include: Paul Bartow of Batavia; Lizbeth Camacho of Oswego; Claire Guzior of Sandwich; Jelena Lezic and Iliana Rivera of Aurora; Christina Penna of Montgomery; Corina Quinonez of Plano; Rami Sa’d of North Aurora; and Nicholas Scanlan of Sugar Grove. Chris Mortenson of Batavia will serve as the 2011-12 student trustee.

During their terms of office, student senate members gain leadership and interpersonal skills, learn to work with budgets, and experience how to organize campus events.

Members of the student senate are responsible for administering student government policies and activities at the Sugar Grove, Aurora, Copley and Plano campuses. They are elected by the student body to serve a term of one academic year.