KHS announces Illinois State scholars

By on December 17, 2011

MAPLE PARK—Kaneland High School Principal Chip Hickman is pleased to announce that 36 Kaneland High School students have been recognized as 2012-13 Illinois State Scholars.

The following students represent Kaneland High Schools 2012 Illinois State Scholars:

Lauren Allen, Brianna Brehm, Taylor Buri, Lauren Companiott, Brian Edward, Eric Eichelberger, Noelle Goodine, Kelsey Gould, Adam Grams, Malory Groen, Elizabeth Howie, Nicole Ketza, Benjamin Kovalick, Jacob Mazuc, Kayley McPhee, Anna Novotny, William Osborne, Alexa Reger, Karyn Ribbens, Josias Rodriguez, Stephanie Rosenwinkel, Alejandra Salinas, Melissa Schmidt, Ashlyn Slamans, Molly Speckman, Anthony Sperando, Brandon Stahl, Trevor Storck, Valerie Tockstein, Marissa Villafuerte, Savannah Webb, Nicholas Wielgos, Richard Williams, Anders Winquist-Bailey, Elliot Witt, Erin Woodill

The prestigious award, given annually by the Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC), recognized 17,515 high school students from across the state as this year’s State Scholars.

Illinois State Scholar winners rank in the top 10 percent of high school seniors from 773 different high schools across the state. Selection is based on SAT, ACT and/or Prairie State Achievement Exam scores, and/or class rank at the end of the junior year. High school
guidance counselors work in conjunction with ISAC to determine the winners.

“Illinois State Scholars represent the best in educational excellence in Illinois,” said John Sinsheimer, ISAC interim executive director. “The Commission applauds their success and salutes their families and the teachers at Kaneland High School on this achievement.”