Elburn voters pick Anderson

By on April 9, 2009

by Martha Quetsch
Elburn voters elected the first new village president in more than 12 years on Tuesday, Dave Anderson. Anderson defeated his opponent, Village Trustee Patricia Romke, 666 to 167.

“Plain old support” is what brought about his victory, Anderson said.

“People know me and, I believe, respect some of the things I have done, and they made their voices heard,” Anderson said.

A lifelong Elburn resident and former owner of The Grocery Store downtown, Anderson will replace three-term Village President Jim Willey. Willey announced last fall that he would not seek re-election.

Romke, an Elburn trustee whose term ends in 2011, called Anderson last night to congratulate him. She is looking forward to working with him on the Village Board.

“I will fully support him for the next two years, and as a team, I hope we can get a lot accomplished,” she said.

Running for village president was “hard work but a great experience,” particularly being able to meet and talk to so many residents during her campaign, said Romke, a Realtor who has lived in Elburn for nine years.

Anderson said as soon as he is sworn in later this month, he will start working on “a lot of little things that will add up to major changes.” He declined to say what those changes will be.

He also plans to put a board committee structure in place, and said that pursuing the construction of the Anderson Road bridge and extension, and addressing stormwater issues, will be his top priorities after taking office.

Voters also elected three new Village Board trustees, Jeff Walter, Jerry Schmidt and Ken Anderson. The three new board members will replace trustees Tom Burgholzer and Jeff Humm, who ran unsuccessfully, and trustee Craig Swan, who did not seek re-election.

Anderson has been Blackberry Township Supervisor for more than 10 years, a seat that will be filled by Dave Richmond. Richmond was the only candidate for the position.

Anderson has been on the Village Board before, as a trustee in the 1970s when the Village Board established a land-use plan, built the wastewater treatment plant, and hired its first village administrator.

His public service also has included being the past president of the Kaneland School Board and a three-term member of that board; a member of the former Kane County Criminal Justice Commission; and a member of the Kane County Regional Planning Commission and the Kane County Zoning Board of Appeals.