Districts give school board members heartfelt thanks

By on November 15, 2012

KANELAND—Nov. 15, 2012, has been designated as School Board Members Day in Illinois, and Kaneland School District 302 is joining other districts across the state to thank these community volunteers for their commitment and contributions to our public schools.

“School board members serve their communities without monetary compensation to make public education the best it can be for every child,” said Dr. Jeff Schuler, District 302 superintendent. “Their policies and oversight guide the district as tough decisions are made on complex educational and social issues that affect the entire community and the lives of individual students.”

As community trustees for the schools, school board members have oversight in District 302 for an annual budget of $59 million; 4,800 students in grades PK-12; more than 600 employees; and six campuses (buildings).

“Each year, the demands become greater for school board members to help lead our community’s schools as they prepare students to be productive citizens and the leaders in a new 21st century global economy,” Schuler said. “Without the efforts of school board members, local citizens would have less input into the way schools operate today. This is an excellent example of grassroots governance. The least that our community can do is to say thank you to these volunteers.”

The men and women serving the Kaneland School District are Cheryl Krauspe, Elmer Gramley, Ken Carter, Teresa Witt, Joe Oberweis, Gale Pavlak and Tony Valente.

“(School board members’) service ensures that decisions about local public schools are made locally by those most familiar with the needs of our community,” Schuler said.