Waubonsee wins ISCC’s All-Sports Trophy again

By on May 16, 2013

Sugar Grove—Waubonsee Community College has once again won the Illinois Skyway Collegiate Conference’s All-Sports Trophy. After a 20-year drought from 1989 to 2009, Waubonsee has now won the ISCC’s prestigious award three out of the last four years.

Waubonsee teams won four ISCC titles during the 2012-13 school year on the way to compiling 56 points to finish four and a half points ahead of second-place Prairie State College. The Chiefs were ISCC Champions in women’s cross country, men’s soccer, men’s basketball and softball, to go along with second-place finishes in women’s tennis and men’s golf, while the baseball team placed third in the conference standings.

The women’s cross country team captured the ISCC crown for the first time since 2008 and had four runners go on to qualify for the NJCAA Division I National Meet. The men’s soccer team won the ISCC title for the first time ever, finishing 6-0-1 in league play a year after going only 1-6 in the conference. Coach Brett Suhayda’s squad ended the year 16-3-1 overall and ranked 17th nationally among all NJCAA Division II soccer teams. Waubonsee’s men’s basketball team finished as co-champions of the ISCC after going 12-2 in conference action en route to a 24-8 overall mark. Coach Perry Clark’s softball squad finished 11-1 in ISCC play to win their third straight league title.

Over the last three years the Lady Chiefs have gone 35-3 in conference play.