Kaneland educators honored at the Kane County Educator of the Year Awards

By on June 13, 2013

KANELAND—Five Kaneland district educators were recently nominated for Kane County Educator of the Year Awards, and two of the nominees took home awards at the Educator of the Year banquet held on May 3 at the Q Center in St. Charles.

The Educator of the Year Award is meant to honor education professionals who exhibit excellence and devotion to students and teaching.

Kaneland nominees for the year 2013 included: Pam Berth of Kaneland Blackberry Creek Elementary School as Secretary in the Support Staff Category; Mark Meyer of Kaneland High School as Teacher in the High School Category; Rachael Wilson of Kaneland John Stewart Elementary School as Fourth-Grade Teacher in the Elementary Category; Kris Weiss of Harter Middle School (HMS) as Middle School Assistant Principal in the Administrator Category; and Patti Reeder of HMS as Eighth-Grade Teacher in the Middle School Category.

Weiss and Reeder, two long-time educators in the Kaneland School District, both received awards in their respective categories. Weiss was honored as the leading Kane County Administrator of the Year, while Reeder was designated as the Kane County Middle School Teacher of the Year.

HMS Principal Bryan Zwemke has worked with both Weiss and Reeder, and knows both educators well.

“(Kris is) student-centered in all of her decisions (and) exemplifies the Kaneland tradition of excellence,” he said.

Zwemke said Reeder was deserving of the award due to her “problem-solving approach” and her first-rate ability to incorporate common CORE math standards into the school curriculum.

“Both Kris and Patti possess an understanding of what needs to get done right now, but understand that they’re building for the future,” Zwemke said.

Kaneland candidates for Kane County Educator of the Year Awards were nominated by fellow faculty members, and the leaders in each category were selected by an advisory board. The formal awards ceremony was sponsored by the Kane ROE.