Elburn village notes

By on April 30, 2009

by Martha Quetsch
Elburn officials to be sworn in at Lions Park
Elburn’s three new trustees, Jeff Walter, Jerry Schmidt and Ken Anderson, and the new village president, Dave Anderson, will be sworn into office during the Elburn Village Board meeting at 7 p.m. Monday, May 4.

The meeting will take place at the Lions Park clubhouse in Elburn.

Elected April 4, the three new board members will replace two-term trustee Tom Burgholzer and one-term trustee Jeff Humm, who ran unsuccessfully, and 14-year trustee Craig Swan, who did not seek re-election.

Dave Anderson will fill the village president position held for the past 12 years by Jim Willey, who did not seek re-election.

Dental office receives grant
Elburn Dentist Richard Stewart thanked village officials for providing a façade improvement grant to help pay for exterior renovations to his office at 135 S. Main St., Elburn.

During the Village Board meeting April 20, Stewart said the redesign is nearly finished and will include awnings and outdoor plantings.

Stewart received the maximum grant available-$10,000-from the façade grant program the village started a few years ago to help improve the downtown.

Express Evaluations also availed themselves of the grant program, in 2007, to enhance the outside of the building at 17 S. Main St.

The grant program requires businesses to provide matching funds for façade projects.