Kaneland Board of Education purchases student artwork

By on November 2, 2013

KANELAND—The Kaneland Board of Education annually purchases the artwork of two students per school, based on the recommendations of the district’s art teachers.

The artwork is framed and displayed in the hallways of the Milnamow Administrative Center for a year or two and then returned to the building of origin for permanent display. The first- and second-place winners for the 2012-13 school year from each building are as follows:

• John Shields Elementary – Rachel Cormier, fifth grade, Savannah Guo, third grade
• Blackberry Creek Elementary – Riddhi Deshpande, fourth grade, Audra Brown, third grade
• McDole Elementary – Mia Carmichael, first grade, Talon Goss, kindergarten
• John Stewart Elementary – Taite Krage, fifth grade, Alyson Malo, second grade
• Harter Middle School – Nathan Seyller, eighth grade, Lauren DiSandro, seventh grade
• Kaneland High School – Brittany Grider, 10th grade, Alexis Logan, 10th grade