Kaneland educators, staff honored by ASQ

By on December 5, 2013

KANELAND—Two teams from Kaneland schools were recently honored at the American Society for Quality Education Conference in Milwaukee, Wis. As a part of their annual conference, ASQ recognizes teams of educators who have worked together to advance an idea that improves the quality of education for students. Each of the teams was recognized for their superior team work, innovative ideas and for the impact on student learning.

The team of middle school educators, including Bryan Zwemke, Britt Mattern and Marci Lapinskas, were honored with a Finalist Level Award for their project titled “Preparing Students for the Middle School Transition.” The presentation focused on celebrating the success of the middle school transition, and presented the process used to develop a comprehensive transition program, including fifth-graders visiting the middle school, “Step-Up Night” and the Jump Start Program.

The middle school transition centered on receiving feedback from students, parents, fifth-and-sixth-grade teachers and K-8 Administration to develop a path for students and parents to enter the middle school prepared academically and socially.

Our elementary team of Sarah Mumm, Kelly DeGaetano, Shelley Hueber, Laura Garland and Martne McCoy were honored with the Merit Level for their project titled “Hiring the Right Teachers” that presented a session on unique hiring processes using the panel interview techniques at the Quality Education Conference. The team shared their knowledge of the panel interview process, as well as the impact on student achievement. The team was also awarded the National Merit Level Team Excellence Award.