Business Competition Day winners announced

By on June 11, 2009

More than 200 students from 14 area high schools competed at Waubonsee Community College’s 30th Annual Business Competition Day on April 29. The event, which took place at the college’s Sugar Grove Campus, was hosted by Waubonsee’s Business and Information Systems Division.

The top three finishers in each of the day’s 13 subject area contests received Waubonsee scholarships totaling more than $60,000. West Aurora High School turned in the best overall performance at Business Competition Day and so received one full Waubonsee scholarship to be given to the student of their choice.

First-place winners included Danish Ghazali, Batavia High School; Kyle Nusbaum, Yorkville High School; Kiersten Stokes and Mark White, West Aurora High School; Ivan Flores, Waubonsie Valley High School; Megan Mendoza, Kaneland High School; and Shane O’Neil, Yorkville High School.

Second-place finishers included Nikki Mandl and Sean Lyons, Waubonsie Valley High School; Cody Johnston, Oswego High School; Jacob Roberts, Plano High School; Stephen Ford, Serena High School; Ben Jacobson, Fox Valley Career Center; and Alexis Staley, West Aurora High School.

Third-place finishers included Kevin Cargo, Oswego High School; Matt Schuman, Fox Valley Career Center; Kelissa Peterson, Serena High School; Aaron Bryant, West Aurora High School; Cody Rios, Yorkville High School; Jorge Garcia, East Aurora High School; and Amanda Ingraham, Kaneland High School.