50th District General Assembly Legislative Scholarships Awarded

By on July 1, 2009

Chairwoman Jeanne Harms, Nancy Aschauer, Connie Emery, Paula Mueller and Lyle Rolf of State Representative Kay Hatcher’s Scholarship Committee are pleased to announce the recipients of this year’s General Assembly Scholarship.

Representative Hatcher does not participate in the selection process; she believes that the impartial scholarship committee is the most transparent way to determine the recipients.

“The committee was honored to be asked by Hatcher to be in included in the process of selecting the scholarship recipients,” said Harms. “As everyone can appreciate, these students are our future leaders.”

Eight students from throughout the 50th district were chosen to receive a full-year’s tuition waiver for the 2009-2010 academic year. Selections were based on a detailed set of criteria which included academic achievement, community involvement and financial need.

“The quality of the applicants was amazing; the recipients are arguably some of the brightest and most brilliant individuals in the district,” Harms said.

Two Sugar Grove residents were among the scholarship winners.

Peter Vilim of Sugar Grove has owned and operated his own computer maintenance business since he was in the 9th grade. Peter was home-schooled and is currently attending the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, studying industrial engineering.

Jessica White of Sugar Grove attended Rosary High School and graduated as the class Salutatorian. Jessica plans to attend the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign and study actuarial science.

The Illinois General Assembly Legislative Scholarship program provides each State Senator and State Representative the opportunity to assist Illinois students by nominating eight students for one-year scholarships to a state university.