Local United Way elects new leadership, appoints five new board members

By on August 4, 2009

ST. CHARLES—The United Way of Central Kane County elected new leadership and appointed five new board members at its June Board of Director’s Annual meeting.

John Neil, newly elected President, Board of Directors for United Way of Central Kane County, said, “The United Way of Central Kane County is committed to making a real difference in the lives of the people who live and work in the communities of St. Charles, Elburn, LaFox, Kaneville, Campton Hills, Geneva, and Wasco. This is the time of renewed energy to continue our commitment to fund important safety net programs during this difficult economic time. The Board, Staff, and I are looking forward to building our agency’s legacy of caring and compassion in meeting the growing needs in our communities.”

Neil is the general manager at Illinois Tool Works, Ramset Division, and has served on the United Way board for the past four years. He remains very active in the community.

To complete the leadership team, Carol McIntyre is serving as Vice President of Finance for a second year. She is a social worker at Village Counseling Center. Matt Richardson agreed to serve as Vice President of the campaign. He is Vice President of Commercial Banking at Harris Bank. Clinton Anderson, Operations Manager at Colonial Cafe and Ice Cream, was elected as Secretary.

“We are fortunate to have elected leadership who can contribute to the community with enthusiasm, commitment and knowledge,” Paula Yensen, Executive Director of the United Way of Central Kane County, said. “United Way plays an important role through contributions of caring people that support volunteers and agencies’ program that help people in their times of personal crisis and local disasters. Their viewpoint will enhance our ability in serving the needs of the community and the agencies we fund.”

The five new board members are Don Russell, AT&T; Jerry Orpen, Wine Sergi; Karin Podolski, Delnor Community Hospital; Ed Brooks, DiGiovine, Hnilo, Jordon, & Johnson; and John Schnier, Lutheran Social Services Illinois.

“The five new board members are a welcomed addition. Their commitment to the Central Kane County communities will enhance our ability to continue our mission,” Neil said.

The 27 United Way member agencies’ 41 programs provide mental health, rehabilitation, youth activities, health care, domestic violence, and elderly support programs throughout the Fox Valley.

The United Way of Central Kane County is a nonprofit, philanthropic corporation dedicated to addressing community needs by strengthening local service agencies and collecting and distributing voluntary contributions that support those agencies.

For more information about United Way of Central Kane County, or about volunteer opportunities contact Paula Yensen, Executive Director at (630) 377-1930.