WCC Phi Theta Kappa hapter earns awards

By on August 13, 2009

SUGAR GROVE—At the recent Illinois Region Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Conference, Waubonsee Community College’s Phi Omicron Chapter earned several awards, including a Five-Star designation. This is the third straight year the chapter has earned PTK’s highest honor.

Individual awards went to Andrea Jennings, of Aurora, and Thomas McDuffee of Geneva, who earned Outstanding Officer and Outstanding Member—Hall of Honor, respectively.

Eight Waubonsee students attended the conference at Kaskaskia Community College in Centralia last month, including Jennings, Monika Kastle and Ranjit Kaur of Aurora; Mark Cox of Oswego; Tom Aguirre and Nadia Elgindy of North Aurora; Anna Lisa Hofmeyer, of Sugar Grove; and Ian Montrose of Geneva.

Established in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the international honor society of two-year colleges.