Budding artists honored

By on December 17, 2009

Seven Kaneland elementary students had artwork selected for the Illinois Art Education Association’s annual student art show. They were honored on Nov. 7 at the IAEA’s state conference in Lisle, Ill. This year, over 400 works were submitted and only 40 were selected. This is an excellent and distinguished opportunity for students in grades K-12 to display their work, and also demonstrate to the public and administrators the breadth of experience young people in Illinois are receiving in their art programs. Congratulations to the following artists and their teachers: Anders Magnuson, Shields Elementary (art teacher Colleen Grigg); Meghan Andrews, Stewart Elementary (art teacher: Heidi Gilkey); Gianna Villanueva, McDole Elementary (art teacher: Erin Livermore); Haley Penkala, Stewart Elementary (art teacher: Gilkey); Noah Treadway, Stewart Elementary (art teacher: Bonnie Whildin); Madison Steddick, Stewart Elementary (art teacher: Whildin); Dalton Askew, Stewart Elementary (art teacher: Gilkey). Courtesy Photo