Fine Arts Fest receives honors

By on March 5, 2010

Kaneland—On Jan. 20, the Kaneland Community Fine Arts Festival (KCFAF) was chosen to receive the Illinois Alliance for Arts Education 2010 Public and Community Service Award.

The Illinois Alliance for Arts Education (IAAE) is an organization for arts educators in drama, dance, music, and art. The only Illinois member of the Kennedy Center for Arts Education Network, the IAAE gives awards annually throughout the state of Illinois in a variety of categories. The KCFAF was nominated by Becky Blaine, art teacher at St. Charles East High School, and will receive the award on March 18 at the Governor’s Mansion in Springfield.

This will be the second recognition the festival has received. The KCFAF previously won the Illinois Chapter of the National School Public Relations Association 2007 Distinguished Service Award. The festival is on Sunday, April 18, from 11 a.m. to 6 p.m. at Kaneland High School.

Photo: The KCFAF Planning Committee (from left, front to back, seated) Colleen Grigg, Diane McFarlin, Lisa Molitor, Maria Dripps-Paulson; (second row) Deanna Cates, Steve Good, Kimberly Nelson, Erin Livermore, Emily Van Delinder, Carleen Wieg, Heidi Espino, Lisa LeMaire; (third row) Lori Grant, Brandon Fox, Nika Plattos, Joann Murdock, Diana Kowalski, Lori Poczekaj, Mary Coffey. Courtesy Photo